Tags

, , , ,

I recently returned from an amazing photography convention in New York City:  NYC Fotoworks.  While I tend to think many “pro-photographer events” are a waste of time and money, this one was absolutely fantastic.

I bought a package of 12 meetings.  Each meeting is a 15 minute one-on-one sit down with the art director and/or editor of your choice.  I met with Publicis, Saatchi and Saatchi, JWT, Women’s Health, Self, TV Guide, People, Seventeen, and more.  Every person I met with seemed genuinely glad to be at the event and honestly interested in my work.

The bonus to attending the event that had not occurred to me prior, was the other amazing photographers I would meet!  Given that we often work in such isolating situations and rarely meet one another, it was pretty awesome to pal around with like-minded people for a week.

It remains to be seen what comes of this venture, but I’m excited to move forward with both my new (potential) clients and new friendships!  I cannot recommend the event enough!

Check out:  http://nycfotoworks.com/

